The first one of my poems that has a date! It was written on September 1, 2006. It is now granted the title ‘A figment’. This was inspired by a philosophy class.


You know what I’m thinking
Of course you do
After all, I am only a fictional character
A pattern in your mind
And you make me what I am
You chose my curling hair our of the many
Picked it out and set it on my head
Do you care how I feel?
You made that too
But what if you weren’t in perfect control?
What if
Just what if
The rules you so carefully built
Had a crack
Not a gaping hole
No spreading abyss
Just a gap
Thinner than one of my mind-made hairs
Through which I could begin
In my own little way
To comprehend your world?

Leave a Reply

