Another untitled and undated poem that I’m relatively certain was written in spring 2006. I have a sneaking suspicion that while I was thinking of someone specific when I wrote it, more than one person was holding space in my emotional mind when this came bubbling out of me. The first time I read it after rediscovering my poetry journal, I knew exactly what this poem was about and when, until I realized that this had to have been written in 2006, and the incident I was remembering occurred at Christmas in 2014. Weirdly, it actually fits the second incident more literally than the first.


There was a way I saw the world then
And I will never see it that way again
Your are no longer a prince
Nor I a princess
Though we laugh in the rain just the same
We sat under the stars and talked
About everything and nothing
And I loved you again, though differently
In some ways, we are twin souls
But at times you feel oceans away
How strange that we should speak
Under the stars
Together this one time
And tomorrow smile at strangers
As we hug and part
Heading home

One thought on “There was a way I saw the world

Leave a Reply

