I was on the fence about posting this one, because it’s rather angsty. In the end, I decided it wasn’t badly written, and angstiness was not enough of a reason not to post it. In part, it’s a reference to the cliché saying that a butterfly flapping its wings can start a hurricane on the other side of the world.


I’m searching for that one choice
That will change my life
That island of control
In a sea of destiny
I cannot see it
Perhaps I am meant to drown
In that vast sea
Helpless against the tides
Without ever finding that one pure moment
Wherein I suddenly see the future
Spread below me
Like the plain below the mountain
And know just where to push the scale
Which butterfly to startle
How to open my wings
And change the world

3 thoughts on “Searching for Control

Leave a Reply

