This is a poem I wrote in 2003 or 2004, before I began dating my work. It was untitled, but I think Secret Garden is a good fit.


There is a place I went a couple of times
It was my secret garden
Someone mowed the lawns and planted flowers
But I never saw them
I like to go there
When the sun is overhead
It trickles through the leaves
Splashes on the grass
Makes it glow like living emeralds
I want to go back
But the sun shines differently in the winter
And I can’t make myself leave the things they want me to do
So every once in a while
I turn away for a minute
I close my eyes to see that green
And let the tears fall like a November drizzle, until
Duty once again tugs on my sleeve

Leave a Reply

